Collective Bargaining

Wages and working conditions are all negotiated through a  collective bargaining process.  The School Board and ACEA each have representatives who come together throughout the year to collectively bargain the terms of the two different contracts.  There is a contract for all instructional staff and another contract for non-instructional staff, or ESPs.   As new language is agreed to by the collective bargaining teams,  it is submitted to the School Board members and to members of the bargaining unit for ratification.


Instructional Collective Bargaining Committee Members:

  • Carmen Ward: ACEA President, Chief Negotiator

  • Melissa Morris (Norton)

  • Crystal Tessman (Metcalf)

  • Laurie Waldo (Hidden Oak)

  • Paula Anderson (A.Q. Jones)

  • David Dixson (Westwood)

  • Nicole Biener (GHS)

  • Kendra Vincent (BHS)

  • Kim Cook (Irby)


Non-Instructional Collective Bargaining Committee Members:

  • Sande Calkins: ACEA Director, Chief Negotiator

  • Dena Chewning (Littlewood)

  • Shirley Evans (Hidden Oak)

  • Rudy Mann (Transportation)

  • Nancy Mason (Transportation)

  • Jim Starkloff (Facilities)


Call us:


Find us: 

618 NW 13th Avenue

Gainesville, FL 32601

Alachua County Education Association is a union of professional workers dedicated to advancing the cause of public education. We educate students, empower our members, and work with parents and the community to build a stronger Alachua County.